Lost Words

I forgot the word for the car with the top down and people drive them when the weather is nice, like summer, and the people are usually rich because the car looks expensive. I can add this one to my list of forgotten words, like the word when someone practices piano and then they play what they learned in front of everyone before they serve cookies and punch. The list of lost words is getting longer.

There are other things I’ve forgotten, too. Like how to play Für Elise on the piano. My fingers remember and can play it without me, but I’ve forgotten where to start, where to put my fingers so they can find their way.

Somedays I remember everything, even the forgotten words, but those days are getting fewer and farther in between. I don’t worry much about forgetting, even on those days when I know I’m forgetting. It’s like dreaming and sometimes I wake up, only the dream still hangs on for a bit as I make my way through the day. What I do worry about, though, is that I might lose my list of forgotten words.

walking in dense fog towards a tree

