Visitors

So the aliens stopped by last night. I know it sounds odd to still be calling them aliens when they’ve been here long enough to raise children of their own here, so I guess that makes some of them natives now. Still, that orange skin and those metallic clothes are a little hard to get used to, so when they land one of their hovercraft in the back yard and knock on your door, you let them in, right? Well, that’s what I did. I let them in.

I could tell right from the start that something was wrong. They fidgeted, for one thing, and those shoulder appendages? The things that look like eye stalks? Well, those were waving all over the place. I can’t afford one of those translator doohickeys you put in your ear to listen to them, and I’m not sure I’d want to anyway, but they seemed to think I could understand them since they stood there jabbering away like we were long lost friends or something.

They didn’t stay long either. Took off kind of quick. But they did leave one thing behind. That’s it, over there on the coffee table, that gold thing. Not sure I’ll be able to pawn it off, since there’s a law against buying and selling alien stuff, so I’m not sure what I’m going to do with it. Now I just need to figure out what that ticking sound means.

