Indebted

I do hope you’ll forgive this small indiscretion. After all this time, I’m sure it’s something of an imposition, but you are in a unique situation, seeing as you have come into possession of my heart. I took the liberty of peeking into the box you keep under your chair, a while ago, when you excused yourself from the room to powder your nose, you said. I agree it, the heart, is in good condition, beating as it does, for its own purpose. I’m afraid that’s the way of it, the heart, my heart, may prove troublesome, as it wanders from time to time, attracted to the most intriguing individuals, like yourself. To get to the point, what I am asking is this: could you set the damn thing on fire? Reduced to cinders, it shouldn’t be a bother to anyone any more. I would consider myself in your debt.

