Evening Plans

“You know, Kathy will be there.” He stood at the door, propping it open with one foot.

“Is that supposed to make me want to come to the party? Kathy and I stopped seeing each other months ago. You need to keep up.” I tossed the empty beer can at the waste bin in the corner of the living room, demonstrating again why I did not play basketball. The next can popped open with a satisfying hiss and spray of foam. God willing, I planned to do some serious damage to this twelve pack.

“I just thought, well, it would be good for you to be around people, what with Emily and all.” My roommate shrugged his shoulders, that dopey smile on his face.

“Thanks, but I’ll take a rain check. I have a serious agenda, and don’t really need want an audience.” With a tap on my phone, the volume of the music drowned out any reply Martin might have thought of to entice me to join him. A frat party was definitely not what I had in mind.

