The Wedding Planner

She took a small marble out of her purse and tossed it into the air where it floated, rotated, then emitted a blue scanning light. Once the readings for the room were complete, it dropped into her open hand. She placed it back into her purse which she clicked shut.

“Clear.”

He nodded his head. “Pretty neat. Is that the new model?” He knelt next to a brushed aluminum case, unlatched it, and opened it up flat. He removed various components and began assembling them on a tripod mount.

“No,” she said. “It’s my own design. How long are you going to take?”

“Just give me a minute. I’ll be ready. You want this done right.”

“Of course we do, that’s why we pay you so much. The couple wants a complete immersive recording of the ceremony. And it has to be an exclusive, which is why I scanned for recording devices. But I don’t know why I’m telling you that. You do your job. I’ve got a wedding to attend to.” With that she turned on her heal and click-clacked across the terrazzo tile floor to check on the rest of the preparations. He watched her leave, appreciative of her focus and ability to get things done. Twenty-four hours isn’t much lead time for the celebrity wedding of the century. He should know, he’d worked all three of them she’d staged so far this year.

